FSC Examination and Certification $25.00**
Firearm Safety Certificate Testing by local gun dealers when you purchase a gun
Click on the link to go to the CA DOJ (California Department of Justice) Study Guide.
This study guide provides you with the basic handgun safety information necessary to pass the test. Following the handgun safety information in this guide will also help reduce the potential for accidental deaths and injuries, particularly those involving children, caused by the unsafe handling and storing of handguns.
Jan 1, 2015 Law now requires an FSC to buy
ANY gun in California!
The HSC Handgun Safety Certificate has been replaced with the FSC Firearm Safety Certificate
You must update your current HSC by June 2015!
New Firearms Safety Certification: Pursuant to Senate Bill 683 (Stats 2013, ch. 761), effective January 1, 2015, the existing Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) program will be expanded and renamed the Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC) program. Under the FSC program, requirements that appled only to handguns in 2014 will now will apply to all firearms (handguns and long guns).
This means to buy ANY gun you must have an FSC. If you have an HSC you must change it to an FSC. A current HSC IS NOT VALID TO BUY A LONG GUN! You will need to get an FSC to purchanse ANY gun in CA.
A valid HSC can still be used to purchase/acquire handguns until it expires. For long gun purchases/acquisitions made January 1, 2015, and thereafter, an FSC will be required. An FSC can be used for both handgun and long gun purchases/acquisitions.
Prior to taking possession of the firearm, you must have a valid FSC
There are a variety of FSC requirement exemptions. In addition to the previous HSC exemptions, a person issued a valid hunting license is exempt from the FSC requirement for long guns only [Penal Code 31700(c)].
You do not need an FSC to move into California with your firearm(s). However, pursuant to Penal Code section 17000, there are important personal firearm importation responsibilities that are explained on this website.
To obtain an FSC you must score at least 75% (23 correct answers out of 30 questions) on the FSC Test covering firearm safety and basic firearms laws. The true/false and multiple choice test is given by DOJ Certified Instructors on gun safety. The FSC applicant must be at least 18 years of age and must present clear evidence of identity and age by presenting a California Driver License or California Department of Motor Vehicles Identification Card. The test is administered by DOJ Certified Instructors at at local gun stores. The fee is $25.